In the waiting

Weeeh, here I am again.
Life. What a ride.
I haven’t been writing for a bit and the sole reason for that is that I felt like there was nothing to write about, what a lie!

But before I jump right into the deep end, allow me to recap my summer so far quickly:

IMG_0208[1]

coming home & being greeted by my patchwork family!

IMG_0330[1]

FINALLY getting a soft pretzel! nothing like your own countries food

IMG_0907[1]

Cheering for Germany with my cousin, what an eppic game!

IMG_0795[1]

Feeling all grown up, my cousins car and my mums car (both liscence plates have our initials and birthdays on them). Didn’t see that day coming so soon 😉

IMG_0723[1]

Celebrating 80 and 85 years of awesome in Oma and Opas life! Also finding out that I’m going to be an aunt, yay for babies!!

IMG_0691[1]

Shennigans with my dad, is it obvious that I’m the princess..?

IMG_0498[1]

Celebrating 18 years of awesome of this guys sister & catching up with good friends! Can we admire my face for a second? Thank you, thank you

IMG_0601[1]

all ready to party!

IMG_0673[1]

I got a job at my favourite smoothie place in the mall! Good thing I learned how to work hard and clean in interns…

IMG_0930[1]

church has us like

IMG_0931[1]

while food has us like

IMG_0972[1]

dyed my hair brown again! not sure how long it’ll stay this way but it fits being home 😉

IMG_0999[1]

mama and me, all smiles

In this current season of my life I feel very ‘in between’.
I am in between two years at cla church.
I am in between high-school and starting university.
I am in between countries.
In between languages.
And yes, I am even in between hair colours at times haha.

Sometimes it can feel so hard to hold on to the hope we have in Jesus.
A hope for GOOD plans.
A hope that there is MORE to life than what our eyes can see and brains can understand.
A hope that there is a FUTURE.
A hope that there is PURPOSE.

I have been having a hard time with that lately.
I know that Jesus is our rock and anchor, unwavering in times of trouble.
Yet I have been feeling so lost, but I am starting to understand what Paul is talking about when he’s saying we should ‘count it all joy’ James 1:2.
Truly all I can in my uncertainty is turn to God, HE is the one thing that is not changing even in times where it seems like everything is changing! But how can I remind myself to turn to that when life gets so busy so fast and the days turn into weeks and I still haven’t memorized verses to carry me through the day?
A blog I love to read is by Mary Kate Robertson (www.thelittleduckwife.com) and she recently shared a tip for memorizing scripture. She does it by taking a verse and writing the first letter of every word on her hand. This way, everytime she glances at it, she remembers the vers and has help memorizing it! I have tried it lately and it works so well.
It’s really important for us as believers to carry the word of God in our heart as it fuels us to do the things He has called us to do, like a car with a tank full of gas equipped to go to its destination. And now, with more verses memorized, I have some truth to run to and anchor me in moments of weakness.

Here are my favourite verses to carry me through the waiting, because truly if you are waiting for something, you are in such good company with the characters in the bible.
These verses might not make a lot of sense to you, as they are not all specific to waiting.
However I think waiting seasons can always bring up deeper issues as we start to stir and get uncomfortable, wanting to take things into our own hands instead of relying on the one who made them.
So these verses hold a lot of value for me, in my waiting season right now, but I know that God can use them to speak to you as well.

Wait for the Lord. Be strong and let your heart take courage. Wait for the Lord.
– Psalm 27:14 (ESV)

In all these things, we are more than conquerors through Him who loves us.
– Romans 8:37 (ESV)

I knew you before I formed you in your mothers womb. Before you were born I set you apart
and appointed you as my prophet to the nations.
– Jeremiah 1:5 (NLT)

You saw me before I was born. Every day of my life was recorded in your book.
Every moment was laid out before a single day had passed.
– Psalm 139: 16 (NLT)

And a voice came from heaven,
“You are my beloved son; with you I am well pleased.”

– Mark 1:11 (ESV)

 

I hope these verses speak to you like they spoke to me and that you are inspired to turn to God in your waiting season!

Paula

Leave a Reply

